Make your own free website on
next up previous contents
Next: Boot Sector Up: FAT Previous: FAT

Disk Layout

There are four general areas on a disk formatted for use with MS-DOS and Windows 95: the boot sector, the File Allocation Table, the root directory, and the data blocks (which can contain subdirectories). [SG94]

Barnett Hsu